Celebrate in Vienna’s most elegant address

But don’t say just Kinsky to him, whatever you do.

The palace is in fact named Daun-Kinsky, after the man that commissioned it: Field Marshal Count Wirich Philipp Laurenz Graf von und zu Daun. He had this opulent Baroque palace built between 1713 and 1719 by renowned master architect Lukas von Hildebrandt. Inside, it features eye-catching stucco work by Alberto Camesina and breathtaking frescoes by Carlo Innocenzo Carlone and Marcantonio Chiarini.

Palais Daun-Kinsky is Vienna’s most elegant address for opulent functions and parties. Weddings, christenings, birthdays, award ceremonies, conferences and glittering events all call for the kind of impressive architecture that matches the occasion. In the heart of Vienna, in the Freyung quarter. With uninterrupted views of the Schottenkirche church.

Ovaler Festsaal8880110
Herrensalon404056
Damensalon323040
Gelber Salon323080
Empfangszimmer40

Business & pleasure

Meetings fit for a count

Count Wirich Philipp von und zu Daun, Prince of Thiano was a political and commercial force to be reckoned with in the Austria of old. Meetings and negotiations conducted in his ‘humble’ abode are automatically steeped with a sense of the historic. Ideal for exclusive presentations, confidential negotiations, press discussions and business breakfasts.

Celebrate surrounded by Baroque majesty

Daun-Kinsky is – you’ll forgive us for repeating ourselves – the jewel in Vienna’s Baroque crown. Guests have the feeling they are floating on air as they glide up the beautiful staircase. The Damensalon is a vision of gentle pink and intricate stucco work. All in all, you would be hard pressed to imagine a better location for a formal gathering, party, gala dinner, cocktail reception or wedding.

Capacities

20 – 180 people

Construction style

Baroque

Weddings

There is a princess inside every one of us

The bride a vision of silk and lace. Her bridesmaids moved to tears. The groom a bag of nerves. Today is the big day! It’s the greatest day of your life and every single moment should live on in your memory forever.

We will be at your side to provide support and advice every step of the way to ensure that everything runs smoothly – from booking the civil marriage ceremony to arranging decorations, music, technical equipment, champagne reception, premium cuisine from our exclusive in-house caterers and the Café Central pastry kitchen, wedding cakes and anything else that a princess could ever wish for.

hochcomma

Tales from Daun-Kinsky

The Kinskys used to be called Wchinsky. Tired of everyone getting the pronunciation wrong, they simplified the name to Kinsky.hochcomma

State rooms

Meetings and functions with style

Palais Daun-Kinsky not only offers an interesting range of interiors; its stucco work, impressive quadratura frescoes and sculptures are all attractions in their own right.

Grand staircase and Empfangszimmer

This isn’t a place to walk into, it’s a place to make an entrance. Leave your everyday cares behind as you ascend the grand staircase, relax in the opulent reception area and immerse yourself in a world of Baroque splendour – under the watchful eye of Count Daun who is experiencing an apotheosis of his own in the ceiling paintings.

Ovaler Festsaal

Our pièce de résistance. Red marble, gilt stucco and a beautiful ceiling painting by Carlo Carlone. Where else could be better to host a glittering reception, dance a waltz at a wedding reception or present someone with a prestigious award. And the sounds of the violins gently hang in the air, straight from the musical heavens.

Herrensalon

Sometimes men need space for some heavyweight discussions. But in fact, no-one will ever know what’s actually being talked about. Surrounded by understated blue-grey tones, it is the perfect place for a tête-a-tête, fine meal or simply talking about business, life, the universe and everything in between. And it goes without saying that women are welcome despite the name.

Damensalon

Here, gentle pastel shades set the tone. It’s easy to picture the blushing bride in this beautiful environment. A vision of lace, silk and tulle. A prince at her side, a dance, a wedding cake, music. And above it all, fabulous stucco designs from Paul Weyr.

Gelber Salon

Prince Kinsky’s former dining room is the place to eat, drink and celebrate like a member of the nobility. The walls are finished in a vivid yellow, and the wooden panelling was originally used in choir stalls created in Georg Raphael Donner’s workshops. A tiled oven from Nuremberg in the corner adds a particularly welcoming and homely note. Above, cherubs and all manner of cheerful creatures gaze down from the ceiling.

hochcomma

Tales from Daun-Kinsky

The list of names behind the palace interiors reads like a who’s who of the art scene of the time. The imperial court could only dream of commissioning such master craftsmen.hochcomma

Our Catering

You don’t eat here. You dine!

It wasn’t just the architecture that was opulent during the Baroque period. The dishes served up to blue-blooded dinner guests were heavy, to put it mildly – and not exactly conducive to the wellbeing of our guests today. Which is why our chef de cuisine prefers to focus instead on the latest fineries from the world of nouvelle cuisine.

Perfect organisation and immaculate service from our attentive event catering staff who are there to take care of your – and your guests’ – every whim. For an unforgettable event.

hochcomma

Tales from Daun-Kinsky

A typical Baroque banquet had at least eight courses. And each course consisted of up to six dishes! hochcomma

Directions & Contact

In the heart of Vienna.

Located on the Freyung square, this Baroque gem is directly opposite the Schottenkirche church.

In short walking distance

  • U3 station Herrengasse, U2 station Schottentor
  • 1A, 2A station Herrengasse
  • Freyung underground parking
  • And Vienna International Airport is just 30 minutes away.

For organisers and guests

Entrance: Freyung 4, 1010 Vienna
Event entrance by agreement

Pick-up points can also be set up for coaches

Palais Daun-Kinsky

Freyung 4
1010 Wien

office@palaisevents.at

Route planner

Architecture

Barocco, Baroque, Barock.

The word Baroque derives from the Portuguese “barocco” – an irregularly shaped pearl. Baroque pearls.

Palais Daun-Kinsky was built between 1713 and 1719 by Johann Lukas von Hildebrandt – the star architect of the Baroque era. The Austrian aristocracy in particular liked to commission his services to build their ‘modest’ primary residences and second and third homes in a bid to outdo one another and establish themselves as the last word in good taste.

Palais Daun-Kinsky isn’t a place to walk – it is a place for striding. You don’t just climb the stairs – you glide aloft. Guest don’t enter – they make an entrance. All under the watchful eye of Count Daun who is experiencing an apotheosis of his own in the ceiling paintings.

The beautiful decorative stucco work was created by Alberto Camesina, while Carlo Innocenzo Carlone contributed the breathtaking ceiling painting above the grand staircase. The latter also worked with Marcantonio Chiarini on the monumental fresco in the Ovaler Festsaal.

Other well-known buildings by Lukas von Hildebrandt include the Upper Belvedere and Palais Schwarzenberg in Vienna, and Salzburg’s Schloss Mirabell.

Timeline

1713

Built by the architect Lukas von Hildebrandt for Count Wirich Philipp von Daun, Prince of Thiano. After his death, the Palais passes into the ownership of his son Count Leopold Joseph Maria von Daun.

1746

Due to financial constraints, the property is sold to Johann Josef Reichsgraf Khevenhüller zu Aichelberg.

1761

It is sold again to Count Ferdinand Bonaventura von Harrach.

1778

The count’s estate passes to his daughter Maria Rose Aloisia Catharina, who had married Count Joseph Kinsky von Wchynitz und Tettau a year earlier. “Daun” becomes “Daun-Kinsky”.

1807

Rosa’s son Ferdinand Johann Kinsky inherits the property.

1812

Ferdinand dies and Palais Daun-Kinsky goes to his eldest son Rudolf.

1836

Rudolf dies – the new owner, his two-year-old son Ferdinand Bonaventura, later runs into financial difficulties. Thanks to his marriage to Princess Maria Anna von Liechtenstein, Palais Daun-Kinsky is propelled into the high-society spotlight.

1904

Death of Count Ferdinand Kinsky whose son Karl inherits the Palais.

1919

Karl dies childless and leaves the family property to his younger brother Count Rudolf Ferdinand. Due to his age, he in turn leaves it to his nephew Ulrich Ferdinand. The authorities force him to let parts of the Palais as they struggle to contain the housing shortage. Ulrich Ferdinand dies unexpectedly in 1938. During the Second World War the Palais is seized by the German army.

1986

Ulrich Ferdinand’s son, Franz Ulrich, who had grown up in Argentina having escaped the war, sells the Palais on 12 June.

1997

After a succession of short-term owners, the Palais is acquired by the Karl Wlaschek Private Foundation, which commissions its renovation between 1998 and 2000.

2002

Palais Daun-Kinsky passes into the ownership of Palais Events Veranstaltungen GmbH.

2011

Palais Events joins the Österreichische Verkehrsbüro Group.

Feiern an der elegantesten Adresse Wiens

Sagen Sie nicht einfach „Kinsky“ zu ihm.

Das Palais trägt nämlich den schönen Namen „Daun-Kinsky“, nach seinem Bauherren – Feldmarschall Wirich Philipp Laurenz Graf von und zu Daun Fürst von Thiano. Er ließ dieses prachtvolle Barock-Palais von dem berühmten Meister Lucas von Hildebrandt in den Jahren 1713-1719 errichten. Ausgestattet mit außergewöhnlichem Stuckdekor von Alberto Camesina sowie atemberaubenden Fresken von Carlo Innocenzo Carlone und Marcantonio Chiarini.

Das Palais Daun-Kinsky ist die eleganteste Adresse Wiens für opulente Feste und Feiern. Denn für eine Hochzeit, Taufe, für Geburtstage, Ehrungen, Konferenzen und glanzvolle Veranstaltungen bedarf es eines architektonischen Rahmens, der dem Anlass mehr als gerecht wird. Und das mitten in Wien, an der Freyung. Mit Blick auf die Schottenkirche.

Ovaler Festsaal8880110
Herrensalon404056
Damensalon323040
Gelber Salon323080
Empfangszimmer40

Feiern & Business

Tagen wie die Grafen!

Wirich Philipp Laurenz Graf von und zu Daun Fürst von Thiano war sowohl politisch als auch wirtschaftlich ein Machtfaktor im damaligen Österreich! In seinem „bescheidenen“ Haus zu tagen und zu verhandeln umgibt jede Veranstaltung mit einem Hauch der Geschichte. Ideal für exklusive Vorträge, intime Verhandlungen, Pressegespräche oder ein Business-Frühstück.

Feiern in barocker Opulenz.

Das Daun-Kinsky ist – das muss jetzt einmal gesagt sein – das schönste Barockjuwel Wiens. Die traumhaften Stiegenaufgänge lassen einen so richtig emporschweben! Im Damensalon verzaubern sanftes Rosa und Stuck. Alles in Allem der schönste Rahmen für Feiern, Partys, Gala-Diners, Cocktailpartys und natürlich Hochzeiten!

Kapazitäten

20 – 180 Gäste

Baustil

Barock

Hochzeit

Sind wir nicht alle ein bisserl Prinzessin?

Die Braut ein Traum aus Seide und Spitze. Die Brautjungfern gerührt. Der Bräutigam nervös. Es ist der Tag der Tage! Die schönste Zeit im Leben – und die soll absolut unvergesslich bleiben.

Damit alles wie am Seidenschnürchen funktioniert, organisieren wir auf Wunsch auch Ihre standesamtliche Trauung, edle Dekoration, Musik, Technik, Sektempfang, kulinarische Köstlichkeiten von unserem hauseigenen Catering und der Café Central Patisserie, die Hochzeitstorte und alles, was das Prinzessinnenherz begehrt.

hochcomma

Gschichterln vom Palais Daun-Kinsky

Die Kinskys, haben früher einmal „Wchinsky“ geheißen. Und weil das eh keiner aussprechen konnte, machten sie einfach „Kinsky“ daraus.hochcomma

Festsäle

Prachtvoll Feiern und Tagen.

Das Palais Daun-Kinsky beeindruckt nicht nur durch den Variationsreichtum der Raumgestaltung, sondern auch durch großartige Stuckaturen, beeindruckende Fresko-Quadraturmalerei und allerlei Skulpturen.

Feststiege & Empfangszimmer

Hier geht man nicht, man macht ein Entrée. In dem prachtvollen Empfangsbereich und Treppenaufgang lässt man den Alltag hinter sich und taucht ein in barocke Opulenz. Liebevoll betrachtet vom Grafen Daun, der auf dem Deckengemälde eben eine kleine Apotheose erlebt.

Ovaler Festsaal

Unser „Pièce de résistance“. Roter Marmorsockel, vergoldeter Stuck und darüber ein reizendes Deckengemälde von Carlo Carlone. Wenn nicht hier, wo sonst könnte man einen prachtvollen Empfang geben, im Hochzeitswalzer schweben oder jemandem einen Preis verleihen. Und aus der Musikempore tönen sanft die Geigen.

Herrensalon

Herren brauchen Raum zum ernsthaften Gespräch. Wobei – wer weiß, was man hier alles besprechen und bereden kann. Umrahmt von dezentem Blaugrau lässt es sich jedenfalls hier perfekt konferieren, tafeln und so ganz, ganz ernsthaft die Welt, die Wirtschaft und das Leben Revue passieren lassen. Natürlich sind die Damen hier ebenso willkommen.

Damensalon

Hier herrscht – oder fraut? – sanftes Pastell. In dieser bezaubernden Umgebung stelle man sich eine wunderschöne Braut vor. Ein Traum aus Spitze, Seide und Tüll. Ein Prinz an der Seite, ein Tanz, eine Torte, Musik. Und ganz oben drauf herrliche Stuckmotive von Paul Weyr.

Gelber Salon

Im ehemaligen Speisesalon des Fürsten Kinsky lässt es sich auch heute nachgerade fürstlich tafeln und feiern. Die Wände erstrahlen in sattem Gelb, die Vertäfelung war einst ein Chorgestühl aus der Werkstatt Georg Raphael Donners. In der Ecke steht – ganz heimelig – ein Kachelofen aus Nürnberg. Und an der Decke schweben Putten und allerlei fröhliches Getier

hochcomma

Gschichterln vom Palais Daun-Kinsky

Bei der Innenausstattung des Palais kam das Who is Who der damaligen Kunstszene zum Zug. Das Kaiserhaus konnte von solchen Meistern nur träumen.hochcomma

Unser Catering

Hier isst man nicht. Man speist!

Im Barock war nicht nur die Architektur opulent. Auch die Speisen, die an adeligen Tafeln kredenzt wurden, waren ausgesprochen üppig und wären heutzutage den Mägen unserer illustren Gäste nicht wirklich zuträglich. Deshalb kreiert unser Küchenchef Martin Berger doch lieber die neuesten Feinheiten der Nouvelle Cuisine.

Alles perfekt organisiert und elegant serviert von unserem kompetenten Event-Catering-Team, das Sie und Ihre Gäste liebevollst umsorgt. Für ein unvergessliches Event!

hochcomma

Gschichterln vom Palais Daun-Kinsky

Bei einem „gewöhnlichen“ barocken Essen wurden mindestens acht Gänge serviert. Und jeder Gang bestand aus bis zu sechs Gerichten! hochcomma

Lage & Kontakt

Im Herzen Wiens.

An der Freyung steht dieses Juwel des Barocks und schaut direkt auf die Schottenkirche hin.

Ganz kommod in Gehweite

  • U3 Station Herrengasse, U2 Station Schottentor
  • 1A, 2A Station Herrengasse
  • Tiefgarage an der Freyung
  • Und vom Flughafen Schwechat sind wir auch gerade einmal 30 Minuten entfernt.

Für Veranstalter & Gäste

Eingang: Freyung 4, 1010 Wien

Es besteht die Möglichkeit eine Haltezone für Busankünfte einzurichten.

Palais Daun-Kinsky

Freyung 4
1010 Wien

office@palaisevents.at

Routenplaner

Architektur

Barocco, Baroque, Barock.

Das Wort „Barock“ stammt vom portugiesischem „barocco“ – den unregelmäßig geformten Perlen. Also Barock-Perlen.

Erbaut wurde das Palais Daun-Kinsky 1713–1719 vom Architekten Johann Lucas von Hildebrandt – seines Zeichens der Star-Architekt des Barock. Speziell die österreichische Aristokratie ließ sich ihre bescheidenen Erst-, Zweit- und Drittwohnsitze von ihm erschaffen, um einander gegenseitig den Rang als stilsicherster Bauherr abzulaufen.

Im Palais Daun-Kinsky geht man nicht – man schreitet. Man steigt nicht Stiegen hinauf – man schwebt empor. Man tritt nicht ein, man macht ein Entrée. Liebevoll betrachtet vom Grafen Daun, der auf dem Deckengemälde eben eine kleine Apotheose erlebt.

Das großartige Stuckdekor wurde von Alberto Camesina gefertigt, das atemberaubende Deckenfresko über der Feststiege stammt von Carlo Innocenzo Carlone. Gemeinsam mit Marcantonio Chiarini schuf er auch das prachtvolle Deckengemälde im Ovalen Festsaal.

Weitere bekannte Bauwerke von Lucas von Hildebrandt: Oberes Belvedere/Wien, Palais Schwarzenberg/Wien, Schloß Mirabell/Salzburg.

Stil & Geschichte

1713

Erbauung durch den Architekten Lucas von Hildebrandt für Wirich Philipp Lorenz Graf Daun Fürst von Thiano. Das Palais geht nach seinem Tod an seinen Sohn Leopold Joseph Maria Graf Daun weiter.

1746

Verkauf des Palais aus finanziellen Gründen an Johann Josef Reichsgraf Khevenhüller zu Aichelberg.

1761

Weiterverkauf des Palais an Ferdinand Bonaventura Graf von Harrach.

1778

Weitervererbung des Palais an seine Tochter Maria Rose Aloisia Catharina, die ein Jahr zuvor Graf Joseph Kinsky von Wchynitz und Tettau geheiratet hat. Ab jetzt ist das „Daun“ das „Daun-Kinsky“.

1807

Vererbung des Palais an Rosas Sohn Ferdinand Johann Kinsky.

1812

Tod Ferdinands, Vererbung des Palais an seinen ältesten Sohn Rudolf.

1836

Rudolf stirbt, der neue Besitzer, sein zu diesem Zeitpunkt erst zwei Jahre alter Sohn Ferdinand Bonaventura, gerät später in finanzielle Schwierigkeiten. Das Palais behält durch seine Hochzeit mit Prinzessin Maria Anna von Liechtenstein große gesellschaftliche Bedeutung.

1904

Tod des Fürsten Ferdinand Kinsky, Vererbung des Palais an seinen Sohn Karl.

1919

Karl stirbt kinderlos und vererbt das Palais an seinen jüngeren Bruder Fürst Rudolf Ferdinand. Dieser vermacht das Haus wiederum aus Altersgründen an seinen Neffen Ulrich Ferdinand. Teile des Palais werden von der Stadtverwaltung wegen der großen Wohnungsnot zwangsvermietet. Ulrich Ferdinand stirbt unerwartet 1938. Im Zuge des zweiten Weltkrieges wird das Palais von der deutschen Wehrmacht beschlagnahmt.

1986

Der während der Kriegswirren in Argentinien aufgewachsene Sohn Ulrich Ferdinands, Franz Ulrich, verkauft am 12. Juni das Palais.

1997

Nach einer Reihe kurzzeitiger Eigentümer wird das Palais von der Karl Wlaschek Privatstiftung gekauft, die es zwischen 1998 und 2000 umfangreich renovieren lässt.

2002

Das Palais Daun-Kinsky wird in die Palais Events Veranstaltungen GmbH eingegliedert.

2011

Eingliederung von Palais Events in die Österreichische Verkehrsbüro Gruppe.