There’s always been a touch of Venice to Vienna

A piece of Italy in the heart of the Vienna?

Yes, and it’s all down to Mr. Ferstel. Or “von Ferstel”, seeing as he was a nobleman. After all, we are in Vienna!

Unlike many other palaces in the Austrian capital Palais Ferstel is not named after its owner, with that honour going instead to its architect. But not until it was completely renovated in 1982. Otherwise it would have ended up being known as the national bank or the stock exchange building, in recognition of the roles originally intended for this opulent structure built by Heinrich von Ferstel.

Be that as it may, Palais Ferstel continues to cast its magic on guests at meetings and parties alike, with its fantastic Venetian-cum-Florentine-cum-Trecento architecture, something you won’t find anywhere else in the capital. With stunning rooms, dazzling chandeliers and an impressive colonnaded courtyard. An Italian Palazzo – in the heart of Vienna’s historic first district, on Freyung.

Capacities

80 – 700 people

Grosser Ferstelsaal348480418
Kleiner Ferstelsaal50130100
Portico_100_
Arkadenhof / Foyer13030090

Business & pleasure

Echoes of the early bank and stock exchange days

The history of the building, which was actually designed as a bank and stock exchange, provides the ideal backstory for business-related events, like award ceremonies, product presentations and conferences.

Celebrate in Venetian Trecento style

A uniquely versatile venue, it is also ideally placed to host unforgettable celebrations! The Grosser Ferstelsaal has ample space for dancing and gala dinners.

Café Central

Where the “Centralists” once met

Café Central moved into Palais Ferstel in 1876. This coffeehouse is a bone fide Viennese institution! Many years ago it was the meeting place of choice for a group of poets, philosophers and revolutionaries sometimes referred to as the “Centralists”. Like then, today’s patrons are spoiled for choice thanks to Café Central’s mouth-watering choice of culinary creations.

There is so much to say about Café Central that it has its own site.

Construction style

Late-romantic historicism

hochcomma

Tales from Palais Ferstel

Without a nobleman to name it after – unlike its peers, this Palais was originally built as a bank and stock exchange – the decision was taken to name the building after its architect, Heinrich von Ferstel.hochcomma

State rooms

Four rooms for every occasion.

Großer Ferstelsaal

Where guests feel like globetrotters on a world cruise. You could be forgiven for thinking that you were aboard a luxury liner of yesteryear, with the waves lapping at the side. Shaped like the bow of a ship, this giant hall has a distinctly maritime feel to it. Surrounded by magnificent columns and decorated with a truly unique coffered wooden ceiling. Vienna’s most opulent room.

Kleiner Ferstelsaal

Running out of space in the main room? Then simply open the beautiful double doors to the Kleiner Ferstelsaal. This small Venetian-inspired pavilion provides ample space for buffets and can – to come back down to earth for a moment – be used as an exhibition space. Set up as a bar, it is perfect for a tête-a-tête.

Arkadenhof

Why travel to Italy when the Arkadenhof – with its magnificent marble staircase and amazing glass ceiling reminiscent of Trecento-era Venice – is just bursting with Mediterranean charm?

The Arkadenhof is ideal for functions of all kinds, hosting press conferences or serious discussions away from prying eyes.

Portico

If you are looking for wood-panelling, then the Portico is the ideal complement to the Grosser Ferstelsaal. For a chat, a coffee or an informal business meeting.

hochcomma

Tales from Palais Ferstel

The stock brokers who once worked in Palais Ferstel saw themselves as masters of the seven seas. Which is why the Grosser Festsaal resembles the bow of a ship.hochcomma

Our Catering

Cooking up a storm

Our exclusive in-house catering service is entrusted with looking after our customers and their guests. Perfect organisation and immaculate service from our attentive event catering staff who are there to take care of your – and your guests’ – every whim. For an unforgettable event.

hochcomma

Tales from Palais Ferstel

Palais Ferstel used steel to support a glass ceiling for the first time. It even featured a water-based cooling system.hochcomma

Directions & Contact

In the heart of Vienna

Palais Ferstel is located between Herrengasse and Strauchgasse, directly on Freyung.

In short walking distance

  • U3 station Herrengasse, U2 station Schottentor
  • 1A, 2A Station Herrengasse
  • Freyung underground parking
  • And Vienna International Airport is just 30 minutes away.

For organisers

Deliveries for your event, in the loading bay:
Strauchgasse 4, 1010 Vienna

For guests

Event entrance by agreement
Freyung 2 und Strauchgasse 4 und Herrengasse 14, 1010 Wien

Pick-up points can also be set up for coaches

Palais Ferstel

Strauchgasse 4
1010 Wien

office@palaisevents.at

Route planner

Architecture

Mr von Ferstel – or what comes of a trip to Italy

It is highly unusual for a Viennese Palais to bear the name of its architect. But Palais Ferstel is an exception – having returned from what must have been a highly inspirational trip to Italy, its architect sat down and started work on what can lay claim to the title of the Gründerzeit era’s most opulent building.

Incorporating whichever aspects appealed to him, von Ferstel’s elegant design combined elements of Venetian and Florentine architecture and art from the Trecento period.

Today visitors can stroll through the glass-roofed Ferstel-Passage – with a wonderful setting for parties and functions on the first floor – before stopping off at Café Central next door. Anton von Fernkorn’s Danube Mermaid Fountain quietly bubbles away in the background at the end of the arcade.

Ferstel championed the use of natural materials, and only the finest stone was good enough. The sturdy wrought-iron gates were the work of a silversmith, and the facade is adorned with sculptures by Hanns Gasser. The interior features stucco lustro, ornate paintwork, leather wall coverings and fine wood panelling

The entire construction, including the interior, cost the princely sum of 1,897,600 guilders, or around EUR 25 million in today’s money.

This is even more remarkable in view of the words of the central bank governor of the time, Franz von Pipitz, who demanded that “the construction should be strictly economical and eschew worthless luxury”.

Heinrich von Ferstel died at the age of 51, but the beauty of his designs for Vienna’s Votivkirche church, Museum of Applied Arts and University of Applied Arts, as well as the Palazzo del Lloyd Austriaco in Trieste live on.

Timeline

1856 - 1860

Brimming with inspiration following a trip to Italy, the eminent young architect Heinrich von Ferstel builds the opulent Palais Ferstel in the Venetian/Florentine Trecento style. “Ferstel”, as it is known locally, is the most modern building in the capital.

1860

Until the official stock exchange building is opened, Wiener Börse rents the ground floor of Palais Ferstel – now the home of Café Central. During this period the Austro-Hungarian Central Bank is also headquartered at Palais Ferstel.

1876

A legend is born! The Pach brothers open Café Central on the ground floor after the stock exchange moves out.

1877

The imperial military casino moves into the former trading floor upstairs where it remains until 1911.

1943

The curtain falls: Café Central closes its doors and does not reopen them for four decades. Palais Ferstel is heavily damaged in the war and the space formerly occupied by Café Central is used for various purposes including storage.

1951

After the war and the Red Army leave behind mountains of rubble and almost completely destroyed interiors, the Vienna basketball association put months of work into patching up the Palais. Known as Halle Herrengasse, and now a makeshift sports venue, it hosts daily basketball matches.

1958

Österreichische Realitäten-AG (ÖRAG) acquires the building.

1970 - 1980

A decade of renaissance: a shadow of its former self, Café Central finally returns to its original state thanks to a painstaking restoration project overseen by Österreichische Realitäten AG.

1981 - 1983

The legend lives again: Café Central reopens in the fully refurbished Arkadenhof. It is also recreated in the national broadcaster’s studio, with ORF’s popular Café Central discussion show regularly broadcast from the mocked-up coffeehouse until 1991.

1986

Café Central returns to its original location in the Säulensaal. The Palais Ferstel state rooms are operated as an event centre for the first time.

2001

The Karl Wlaschek Private Foundation acquires Palais Ferstel and Café Central with the purchase of Österreichische Realitäten-AG. Palais Events Veranstaltungen GmbH is founded.

2011

Palais Events joins the Österreichische Verkehrsbüro Group. The in-house catering and service team retain exclusive responsibility for looking after guests.

Tagen, Tafeln und Vergnügen auf Venezianisch.

Ein Stückerl Italien mitten in Wien?!

Und schuld ist der Herr Ferstel. Natürlich war er ein „von“, der Ferstel. Schließlich sind wir in Wien! Doch im Gegensatz zu anderen Palais in Wien wurde dieses nicht nach seinem Besitzer sondern nach seinem Architekten benannt. Allerdings erst nach der Renovierung im Jahr 1982. Sonst hätte es gar „Nationalbank“ oder „Börse“ heißen müssen, denn das war die eigentliche Widmung des von Heinrich von Ferstel geschaffenen Prachtbaus.

Wie auch immer – jetzt bezaubert „Das Ferstel“ seine feiernden und tagenden Gäste mit seinem wunderbaren – in Wien einzigartigen – venezianisch-florentinischen Trecento-Stil. Mit prachtvollen Räumen, prunkvollen Lustern und einem herrlichen Arkadenhof. Ein italienischer Palazzo – und das mitten in Wien im 1. Bezirk an der Freyung.

Kapazitäten

80 – 700 Gäste

Grosser Ferstelsaal348480418
Kleiner Ferstelsaal50130100
Portico_100_
Arkadenhof / Foyer13030090

Feiern & Business

Wie in den guten alten Bank & Börse Zeiten

Schon die Geschichte des Hauses, das ja eigentlich als Bank und Börsengebäude konzipiert worden ist, bietet heute den idealen Rahmen für Veranstaltungen rund ums Business. Zum Beispiel für Award-Verleihungen, Produktpräsentationen und Konferenzen.

Feiern im venezianischen Trecento.

Die einzigartig vielfältige Ausstattung des Palais bietet sich geradezu an, um rauschende Feste zu feiern! Im Großen Ferstelsaal ist reichlich Platz für Tanz und prachtvolle Dinners.

Café Central

Wo einst die „Centralisten“ tagten.

Seit 1876 hat das Café Central seine Heimat im Palais Ferstel. Eine echte Wiener Institution! Hier trafen sich einst die sogenannten „Centralisten“. Dichter, Denker und auch Revoluzzer, die dieses Café ihre Heimat nannten. Heute schnabuliert man sich hier quer durch die exzellenten kulinarischen Kreationen des Hauses.

Fürs Café Central gibt es sogar eine eigene Seite: Schaun Sie mal hier.

Baustil

Später romantischer Historismus

hochcomma

Gschichterln vom Palais Ferstel

Da das Palais eigentlich als Bank und Börse erbaut wurde, gab man ihm – mangels Adelsgeschlecht – den Namen des Architekten: Heinrich von Ferstel.hochcomma

Festsäle

Vier Räume für alle Gelegenheiten.

Großer Ferstelsaal

Hier fühlt man sich wie ein Weltreisender in Sachen Feiern. Schon vermeint man das Rauschen der Wellen rund um diesen Luxus-Liner vergangener Zeiten zu hören. Der riesige Saal erinnert nämlich sehr an einen Schiffbug. Umrahmt von herrlichen Säulen, geschmückt mit einer wirklich einzigartigen Holzdecke. Der prachtvollste Saal Wiens.

Kleiner Ferstelsaal

Der große Saal könnte Ihnen zu eng werden? Dann öffnen Sie doch einfach die Flügeltüren zum Kleinen Ferstelsaal! Ein kleiner venezianischer Pavillon, der genügend Raum für Buffets bietet und ja – auch ganz profan – als Ausstellungsfläche genutzt werden kann. Als Barbereich eingerichtet, lädt er auch zu intimeren Plaudereien ein.

Arkadenhof

Wozu nach Venedig reisen, wenn man hier im Arkadenhof sich so ungeheuer mediterran fühlen kann! Allein die prachtvolle Marmortreppe und erst das unglaubliche Glasdach, wie einst im Venedig des Trecento.

Der Arkadenhof lädt auch ein das eine oder andere Fest zu feiern, eine Pressekonferenz abzuhalten, oder gar „konspirativ“ zu tagen.

Portico

Steht Ihnen der Sinn eher nach mehr Holztäfelung, dann bietet sich das Portico als Ergänzung zum Großen Ferstelsaal an. Für ein Plauscherl, ein Kaffeetscherl oder Business-Gespräche.

hochcomma

Gschichterln vom Palais Ferstel

Die ehedem im Ferstel angesiedelten Börsianer sahen sich als Beherrscher der Weltmeere. Deshalb erinnert der große Ferstelsaal auch an ein Schiff.hochcomma

Unser Catering

Anspruch ist der beste Koch.

Unser hauseigenes Catering verwöhnt exklusiv nur unsere Kunden und deren Gäste. Alles perfekt organisiert und elegant serviert von unserem ausgezeichneten Event-Catering-Team, das Sie und Ihre Gäste liebevollst umsorgt. Für ein unvergessliches Event.

hochcomma

Gschichterln vom Palais Ferstel

Im Palais wurde erstmals Stahl für das Glasdach verwendet. Sogar eine Wasserkühlung wurde eingebaut.hochcomma

Lage & Kontakt

Im Herzen Wiens.

Das Palais Ferstel liegt zwischen der Herrengasse und der Strauchgasse. Direkt an der Freyung.

Ganz kommod in Gehweite

  • U3 Station Herrengasse, U2 Station Schottentor
  • 1A, 2A Station Herrengasse
  • Tiefgarage an der Freyung, beim Votivpark und bei der Börse
  • Und vom Flughafen Schwechat sind wir auch gerade einmal 30 Minuten entfernt.

Für Veranstalter

Anlieferung für Ihren Event in der öffentlichen Ladezone:
Strauchgasse 4, 1010 Wien

Für Gäste

Veranstaltungseingänge nach Absprache:
Freyung 2 und Strauchgasse 4 und Herrengasse 14, 1010 Wien

Es besteht die Möglichkeit eine Haltezone für Busankünfte einzurichten.

Palais Ferstel

Strauchgasse 4
1010 Wien

office@palaisevents.at

Routenplaner

Architektur

Herr von Ferstel oder:
Wenn einer eine Italien-Reise tut.

Üblich war es ja nicht, dass ein Palais nach seinem Architekten benannt wurde. Doch das Palais Ferstel trägt stolz den Namen seines Architekten, der – eben von einer scheinbar ausgesprochen inspirierenden Italien-Reise heimgekehrt – sich voller Verve auf die Konzeption dieses prachtvollsten aller Gründerzeit-Bauten warf.

Hier konnte er nach bester Lust und Laune venezianische und florentinische Trecento- Architektur und Kunst zu einem eleganten Entwurf vereinen.

In der Ferstelpassage mit ihrem eindrucksvollen Glasdach kann man heute Flanieren, ums Eck im Café Central einkehren und natürlich in den Räumen im ersten Stock wundervolle Feste feiern. Sanft umplätschert vom „Donauweibchen“-Brunnen aus der Hand von Anton von Fernkorn.

Ferstel war ein Verfechter der „Materialkunst“. Nur die besten Steine waren gut genug. Die mächtigen schmiedeeisernen Gittertore wurden von einem Silberschmied geschaffen. Die Fassade mit Plastiken von Hanns Gasser geschmückt. Innen wurde mit Stukkolustro, reicher Bemalung, Ledertapeten und edlen Holzvertäfelungen gearbeitet.

Der gesamte Bau samt Innenausstattung kostete die gewaltige Summe von 1.897.600 Gulden heute: rd. € 25 Mio! Erstaunlich, wenn man bedenkt, dass der damalige Gouverneur der Nationalbank, Franz von Pipitz, verlangte, dass „…der Bau bei strenger Beachtung von Ökonomie und bei Vermeidung eines wertlosen Luxus“ entworfen werden sollte.

Heinrich von Ferstel wurde nur 51 Jahre alt, doch seine Bauten (Votivkirche/Wien, Museum und Universität für Angewandte Kunst/Wien, Palazzo del Lloyd Austriaco/Triest) bezaubern bis heute.

Stil & Geschichte

1856 - 1860

Der junge Architekt Heinrich von Ferstel baut, inspiriert von einer langen Italienreise, das prachtvolle Palais Ferstel im Stil des venezianisch-florentinischen Trecento. Das „Ferstel“ ist damals das modernste Gebäude Wiens.

1860

Die Wiener Börse mietet sich bis zur Eröffnung der offiziellen Wiener Börsensäle im Erdgeschoss des Palais Ferstel ein – dem heutigen Café Central. Auch die Österreichisch-Ungarische Nationalbank hat in dieser Zeit ihren Sitz im Palais Ferstel.

1876

Der Beginn einer Legende! Die Gebrüder Pach eröffnen im Erdgeschoss nach dem Auszug der Börse das Café Central.

1877

Das k. u. k. Militärkasino zieht in den ehemaligen Börsensaal im 1. Stock und bleibt hier bis 1911.

1943

Der Vorhang fällt: Das Café Central wird geschlossen und bleibt das für insgesamt vier Jahrzehnte. Das Palais Ferstel erleidet durch den Krieg großen Schaden, die Räumlichkeiten des Café Central werden unter anderem als Lagerraum genutzt.

1951

Nachdem der Krieg und die Rote Armee meterhohen Schutt, kaputte Fenster und eine fast völlig zerstörte Inneneinrichtung hinterlassen haben, arbeitet die Wiener Basketballgemeinde monatelang an der notdürftigen Renovierung des Palais. Danach wird in der „Halle Herrengasse“ täglich Basketball gespielt.

1958

Die Österreichische Realitäten-AG (ÖRAG) übernimmt das Gebäude.

1970 - 1980

Das Jahrzehnt des Neubeginns: Der stark verblasste Glanz des Palais Ferstel wird durch behutsame Revitalisierung der Österreichischen Realitäten AG wiederhergestellt.

1981 - 1983

Die Legende lebt: Das Café Central öffnet im renovierten Arkadenhof wieder seine Pforten. Es wird in einem ORF-Studio nachgebaut und bis 1991 wird die ORF Diskussionssendung „Café Central“ regelmäßig aus dem „Kaffeehaus“ übertragen.

1986

Das Café Central zieht wieder, wie ursprünglich, in den Säulensaal. Die Festsäle des Palais Ferstel werden erstmals als „Veranstaltungszentrum“ betrieben.

2001

Die Karl Wlaschek Privatstiftung übernimmt durch den Erwerb der Österreichischen Realitäten-AG auch das Palais Ferstel mit dem Café Central. Die Palais Events Veranstaltungen GmbH wird gegründet.

2011

Eingliederung von Palais Events in die Österreichische Verkehrsbüro Gruppe. Die hauseigene ausgezeichnete Küche sowie Service betreuen weiterhin exklusiv alle Gäste.