Stocks rising for opulent events

Whichever way you look at it, it’s hard to imagine a prettier place to buy and sell stocks and shares

– it seems far too beautiful for filthy lucre! Which is why the Vienna Stock Exchange was moved out, and the magnificent trading rooms in this monumental building on the Ringstrasse boulevard are now available for you to use.

For six years architects Theophil von Hansen and Carl Tietz worked tirelessly on this Neo-Renaissance masterpiece, which was completed in 1877. Oceans of marble, acres of stucco, forests of columns and no end of space. The best place for …

… press conferences, presentations or cocktail receptions.

And a concert venue with acoustics as pure as this Temple of Mammon is a rare thing indeed. Anyone who wants to give their guests a real culinary treat can either use the excellent inhouse catering, or alternatively commission the services of their own caterers. We know which we would choose!

Festsaal200380260
Festsaal mit Arkaden252450350
Roter Saal72120100
Maria Theresien Saal366070

Business & pleasure

Where stock brokers once met

It’s difficult to envisage there being a better place to host a business event than in the former stock exchange building. Although the Vienna Stock Exchange has since relocated, it has left its mark on the spaces it once occupied. Perfect for lifestyle events, business lunches, award ceremonies and presentations.

These heavenly halls

Anyone lucky enough to experience a concert in the Festsaal will treasure the memory for years to come. The high ceilings not only create excellent acoustics, they also ensure there is plenty of fresh air if things get heated on stage. The Wiener Börsensäle are also perfect for dancing. The opulent interiors and effect lighting make the venue ideal for private parties and functions. It is also perfect for other special occasions such as christenings.

Capacities

50 – 540 people

Construction style

Viennese Neo-Renaissance

hochcomma

Tales from the Vienna Stock Exchange

“Hopefully this heat will fire up the trading activities,” said Empress Maria Theresa at the official opening of the stock exchange building in 1761. It was a hot August day.hochcomma

State rooms

Take the party to the trading floor

Festsaal

Columns, stucco, capitals, red velvet and plenty of space for the upwardly mobile – the ceilings in the Festsaal are an impressive 13 metres high, meaning that the air is always clear. Anyone who attends a function, meeting or conference in this space is certain to leave on a high. The eye-catching effect lighting adds a touch of contemporary cool to the Neo-Renaissance interiors.

Roter Saal & Maria Theresien Saal

Nothing could be more typical of Vienna than the notorious chambre separée – and we have two of them, although ours are decidedly modest. Both rooms can be used as an extension of the Festsaal, for an opulent buffet, an informal chat over coffee or even a quick trip to the bar.

hochcomma

Tales from the Vienna Stock Exchange

All the decorative facade elements and sculptures from the fire-ravaged stock exchange building were cast in plaster and moved to the Leopoldinischer Wing of the Hofburg for safe keeping.hochcomma

Catering

Dreaming of fine dining?

Free choice of catering partners

In the Börsensäle, the indicators could not be better for fans of the finer side of life. You can put your epicurean portfolio in the hands of our in-house catering team led by chef de cuisine Martin Berger and savour the lightness of his approach which brings out the very best in the very best ingredients. Afterwards, we recommend a selection of pastries from the Café Central patisserie.

Alternatively, you can appoint your own caterer. We will provide the ideal spaces for your needs including a fully-equipped catering kitchen.

hochcomma

Tales from the Vienna Stock Exchange

Construction costs started to spiral out of control. But Theophil von Hansen simply dipped into his own private funds to stay true to his vision!hochcomma

Directions & Contact

Right on the Ringstrasse

The Börsensäle are located inside a striking red brick building on Vienna’s showpiece Ringstrasse boulevard in the first district. Set off here aboard a tram for a whistle-stop tour of virtually all of the capital’s most impressive landmarks. Or simply stroll through the historic old town. Our local hotel partner, the elegant Hilton Vienna Plaza, is just around the corner.

In short walking distance

For organisers

Deliveries for your event, in the loading bay:
Börsegasse 4, 1010 Vienna

For guests

Event entrance Wipplingerstraße 34, 1010 Vienna

Pick-up points can also be set up for coaches

Wiener Börsensäle

Wipplingerstraße 34
1010 Wien

Route planner

Architecture

Theophil von Hansen – Doric delights

Heinrich von Ferstel was beside himself: after all the work he had put into designing the new stock exchange building on the Ringstrasse, he felt the job had his name on it. But the commission went to the Danish architect Theophil von Hansen and his colleague Carl Tietz instead. Hansen created an exceptional masterpiece in what he fondly referred to as the “Viennese style” – aka Neo-Renaissance

Hansen lived and worked in Athens for eight years, so it is hardly surprising that he developed a weakness for Doric and Corinthian columns, capitals and heavily ornamented facias.

And for doing things on a monumental scale! The trading floor was really striking. After a major fire in 1965 it was converted into a beautiful courtyard. The Festsaal, which survives to this day, has 13-metre-high ceilings, making it the ideal venue for events. After all, guest appreciate a sense of space. The stucco work and wood panelling are a sight to behold.

Hansen was a stickler for details and, with the costs of his obsessive eye rising all the time, he dug into his own pocket to keep the project afloat.

Other well-known buildings by Theophil Hansen in Vienna: Arsenal, Parliament, Musikverein, Academy of Fine Arts.

Style & history

1771

The Vienna Stock Exchange is set up under Empress Maria Theresa’s government, initially as a state institution.

1860

The Vienna Stock Exchange is granted financial autonomy.

1871

Planning permission granted and start of construction work under the aegis of the Danish architect Theophil von Hansen. Hansen’s obsessive eye for detail delays the project and costs start to spiral. The bank committee repeatedly calls for savings, but Hansen remains true to his design, covering a portion of the costs himself.

1877

The Vienna bourse moves from its temporary home having left Palais Ferstel a year earlier, and takes up residence on Schottenring. On 14 March the new stock exchange building is officially opened by Emperor Franz Joseph I.

1956

The opulent 1,440m² trading hall – the heart of the building – is gutted by a fire. As vital parts of the building survived and the facade was unscathed, the Vienna Stock Exchange Chamber decided to rebuild it on the original site. Although it remained the same from the outside, the building’s interior now featured a large courtyard in place of the majestic trading floor. The wing leading to Börseplatz is renovated and the state room inside used for events.

2000

The Karl Wlaschek Private Foundation acquires the stock exchange building with the purchase of Österreichische Realitäten-AG.

2001

The Karl Wlaschek Private Foundation sets up Palais Events Veranstaltungen GmbH as an operating company, with Wiener Börsensäle as its first member.

2011

Palais Events joins the Österreichische Verkehrsbüro Group.

Der beste Ort für prunkvolle Veranstaltungen

Man kommt nicht umhin anzumerken

– selten hat der Handel mit Aktien einen so prachtvollen Rahmen gehabt! Viel zu schön für den schnöden Mammon! Die Wiener Börse wurde daher umgesiedelt und nun stehen die herrlichen Börsensäle, in dem im Jahre 1877 fertiggestellten Prachtgebäude, an der Wiener Ringstraße für Sie zur Verfügung.

Sechs Jahre bauten die Architekten Theophil von Hansen und Carl Tietz an diesem Meisterwerk der Neorenaissance. Viel Marmor, viel Stuck, viele Säulen, viel Platz. Ideal für Pressekonferenzen, Präsentationen oder Cocktailempfänge.

Und selten hat ein Konzert so eine wunderbare Akustik, wie in diesen herrlichen Hallen. Wer übrigens sich und seine Gäste kulinarisch verwöhnen will, kann entweder unsere hauseigene Gastronomie und die Köstlichkeiten der Café Central-Patisserie genießen. Oder ein eigenes Catering beauftragen. Obwohl…

Festsaal200380260
Festsaal mit Arkaden252450350
Roter Saal72120100
Maria Theresien Saal366070

Feiern & Business

Wo einst die Börsianer tagten.

Wo, wenn nicht hier in den Börsensälen, kann man perfekte Business-Events abhalten. Mag auch die Wiener Börse selbst schon weitergezogen sein, der Hauch ihrer Geschichte weilt immer noch in ihren Hallen. Einfach ideal für Lifestyle Events, Business-Lunches, Preisverleihungen und Präsentationen.

In diesen herrlichen Hallen!

Wer je ein Konzert im Festsaal miterlebt hat, wird für immer begeistert sein. Der hohe Raum sorgt nicht nur für eine wunderbare Akustik sondern auch für genügend frische Luft, wenn die Stimmung überkocht. Und tanzen kann man hier! Ebenso bieten sich die prachtvolle Ausstattung und die Effektbeleuchtung für private Feste und Feiern an. Sogar für Taufen sind die Räumlichkeiten einfach ideal.

Kapazitäten

50 – 540 Gäste

Baustil

Neorenaissance, Wiener Stil

hochcomma

Gschichterln von der Wiener Börse

„Die Hitz´ wird hoffentlich das Feuer der Börsenaktivitäten anheizen!“ meinte Kaiserin Maria Theresia zur Gründung der Börse 1761. Es war ein heißer August-Tag.hochcomma

Festsäle

Bringen Sie Ihr Fest an die Börse.

Festsaal

Säulen und Stuck und Kapitelle und roter Samt und jede Menge Raum nach oben. So an die 13 Meter hoch ist der Festsaal. Da kommt sicher niemals dicke Luft auf. Ganz im Gegenteil. Ein absolutes Hochgefühl befällt alle, die in diesem Raum ihre Feste feiern, Tagungen oder Konferenzen abhalten. Die herrliche Effektbeleuchtung bringt zur Neorenaissance einen guten Schuss Coolness dazu.

Roter Saal & Maria Theresien Saal

Nichts wäre typischer für Wien als das berüchtigte Chambre Separée. Und da hätten wir gleich zwei davon! Wobei…hier geht es natürlich züchtig zu. Beide Räume können als Ergänzung zum Festsaal benutzt werden, für ein opulentes Buffet, ein paar Kaffee-Plauscherl und so oder für einen kleinen Barbesuch.

hochcomma

Gschichterln von der Wiener Börse

Der gesamte Fassadenschmuck und alle Skulpturen der abgebrannten Börse werden in Gips gegossen im Leopoldinischen Trakt der Hofburg aufbewahrt.hochcomma

Catering

Wie wünschen zu speisen?

Freie Cateringwahl

In den Börsensälen stehen die Aktien günstig für alle Genießer.
Entweder Sie vertrauen Ihr Gusto-Portfolio den begnadeten Kochkünsten unseres hauseigenen Caterings unter Leitung von Herrn Berger an und genießen die Feinheiten seines Umgangs mit den besten Zutaten. Dazu als Abschluss die ausgesuchten Patisserien des Café Central.

Oder Sie wählen einen eigenen Caterer aus. Wir stellen dazu die passenden Räumlichkeiten samt perfekt ausgestatteter Cateringküche zur Verfügung.

hochcomma

Gschichterln von der Wiener Börse

Die Kosten beim Bau explodierten. Doch Theophil von Hansen zückte einfach die eigene Brieftasche!hochcomma

Lage & Kontakt

Direkt am Ring.

Die Börsensäle in ihrem auffallenden, ziegelrotem Gewand liegen an der Wiener Ringstraße:  der berühmten Prunkstraße im ersten Bezirk. Von hier aus können Sie mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln einmal an all den eleganten Prachtbauten Wiens vorbeikutschieren. Oder zu Fuß die Innenstadt Wiens erkunden. Unser lokaler Hotel-Partner, das elegante Hilton Vienna Plaza liegt gleich ums Eck.

Ganz kommod in Gehweite

Für Veranstalter

Lieferantenzufahrt: Börsegasse 11, 1010 Wien

Für Gäste

Eingang: Wipplingerstraße 34, 1010 Wien

Es besteht die Möglichkeit eine Haltezone für Busankünfte einzurichten.

Wiener Börsensäle

Wipplingerstraße 34
1010 Wien

Routenplaner

Architektur

Theophil von Hansen oder: Säulen aus Athen tragen.

Heinrich von Ferstel war erzürnt: Eigentlich hatte er nach all seinen Vorarbeiten für die Börse am Ring gehofft, dass er den Zuschlag für den Bau erhalten würde. Doch der dänische Architekt Theophil von Hansen und sein Kollege Carl Tietz kamen zum Zug.

Hansen schuf ein ausgesprochenes Meisterwerk im von ihm liebevoll genannten „Wiener Stil“. Man könnte auch Neorenaissance dazu sagen.

Hansen lebte und baute 8 Jahre in Athen, kein Wunder also, dass er eine Schwäche für dorische und korinthische Säulen, für Kapitelle und reichgeschmückte Attika entwickelte.

Und für wahre Größe! Der Börsensaal war wahrlich imposant. Nach einem großen Brand im Jahre 1956 wurde er in einen wunderschönen Innenhof umgebaut. Der große Festsaal allerdings, der heute genutzt werden kann, hat immerhin noch eine Deckenhöhe von 13 Metern! Für Veranstaltungen ideal. Schließlich will man es ja schön luftig über den Köpfen haben. Dazu kommen wirklich wundervolle Stuckaturen und Holztäfelungen.

Hansen war ausgesprochen detailverliebt und als die Kosten seiner Versessenheit immer höher stiegen, zahlte er sogar aus eigener Tasche für den Weiterbau.

Weitere bekannte Bauwerke von Theophil von Hansen in Wien: Waffenarsenal, Parlament, Musikvereinsgebäude, Akademie der Bildenden Künste.

Stil & Geschichte

1771

Die Wiener Börse wird unter der Regierung von Kaiserin Maria Theresia als zunächst staatliche Einrichtung gegründet.

1860

Die Wiener Börse erhält finanzielle Autonomie.

1871

Baubewilligung und Beginn der Bauarbeiten unter Ägide des dänischen Architekten Theophil von Hansen. Hansens Liebe zum Detail verzögerte und verteuerte den Bau. Das Bankkomitee verlangte immer wieder Einsparungen, doch Hansen blieb seinem Entwurf treu und bezahlte sogar selbst einen Teil der Kosten.

1877

Die Börse zieht aus der Interimsunterkunft, nach dem Auszug 1876 aus dem Palais Ferstel, in die „Wiener Börse“ am Schottenring ein.

1877

Am 14. März wird das neue Börsengebäude von Kaiser Franz Joseph I. feierlich eröffnet.

1956

Eine Brandkatastrophe vernichtet den prächtigen Wertpapierbörsensaal mit insgesamt 1440m² als wuchtigen Mittelpunkt des Börsengebäudes. Da bedeutende Teile des Gebäudes jedoch erhalten und die Außenfassaden unversehrt bleiben, entschließt sich die Wiener Börsenkammer das Gebäude wieder aufzubauen. Die Außenansicht wird nicht verändert, im Inneren ersetzt ein großer Hof den wuchtigen Börsensaal. Der zum Börseplatz liegende Trakt wird renoviert und der darin befindliche Festsaal für Veranstaltungen genutzt.

2000

Die Karl Wlaschek Privatstiftung übernimmt durch den Erwerb der Österreichischen Realitäten-AG auch das Börsengebäude.

2001

Gründung der Palais Events Veranstaltungen GmbH durch die Karl Wlaschek Privatstiftung als Betreiberfirma mit den Börsensälen Wien als erstes Mitglied.

2011

Eingliederung von Palais Events in die Österreichische Verkehrsbüro Gruppe.